Close to Castletown, Silverdale was developed as a pleasure ground for Victorian visitors who were attracted by the wooded glen and the ruins of “Rushen Abbey.”:https://www.silvertraveladvisor.com/review/attraction/193823-review-rushen-abbey Visitors were charged 6d to enjoy attractions like putting and bowling greens, a dance floor, peacocks and strawberry and cream teas. These have all gone although the ruins still attract visitors.
The Glen continues above Rushen Abbey to the delightful C14th Monk’s Bridge. Beyond are paths on both sides of the river, linked by bridges. This was very much the pleasure glen of the Victorians. There is a lily pond (plenty of ducks but no water lilies), the remains of a water mill with its leat and wheel pit, as well as a small Holy Well, described on the map as a wishing well.
The footpaths join an unclassified road between the A3 and A34 which drops down to a car park by the now disused stone Cregga Mill. The mill pond is now a boating lake with pedalos which can be hired from the “cafe.”:https://www.silvertraveladvisor.com/review/restaurant/199854-review-silverdale-glen-cafe The white building at the far end of a lake is a disused mineral water factory.
There is a very good children’s play area including a wonderful Victorian roundabout powered by a waterwheel. This dates from about 1890 and is the only surviving and still working water powered roundabout in Europe. The horses were replaced in the 1980s. The waterwheel came from the Foxdale mines when they closed.
The walk continues above the boating lake, following the burn through the trees to the A3 and beyond.