We were showing our Belgian friends around Worcester – they love old places in England and it is a pleasant place to visit. Greyfriars’ House is a National Trust property in the heart of the Medieval Friar Street. (The advantage being because it is in the city you can get there by public transport)
Inside we were greeted by friendly volunteer guides who told us the history of the building. It was originally built in 1480 and has been the home of the local gentry, shopkeepers, merchants and a publican. They told us the stories of the various inhabitants and how the house was rescued from demolition just after the Second World War. Within the collection there is a Spanish leather screen, a 17th century brass plaque, Georgian wallpaper, many old clocks, embroideries, 16th century tiles and a wonderful assortment of painted doorstops.
Also, what is now the garden was formerly a terrace of early 19th century workers’ houses called George’s Yard. We visited in early spring so the plants were just waking up, but we were told that throughout the coming months there would be bursts of colour.
One important reason to visit Greyfriars’ was for us, of course, to enjoy a cup of tea for us, coffee for our friends and to relish the homemade cakes in the Old Oak Cafe. Up to the usual NT standard!