Queen Victoria used to travel to Windsor Castle by train to a grand station opposite Windsor Castle. Royal trains no longer travel here and although a small platform survives as the terminus to the branch to Slough, much of it has now been converted into an upmarket shopping area with names like French Connection, Jaeger, Aquascutum, Le Creuset, Crabtree and Evelyn along with many eateries.
Many of the original features of the station survive like the Jubilee arch, the glass canopy and the ticket office, which now serves as the Tourist Information Centre.
There is an octagonal VR postbox and a full scale replica of a Great Western Railway Achilles Class 4-2-4 loco Number 3041. This was originally named Emlyn, after the Chairman of the GWR. When it was repainted in 1897, it was renamed The Queen and used to pull carriages of the Royal Train. It was withdrawn from service in 1912 and none of the class survive.