St Engan’s Church

1128 Reviews

Star Travel Rating


Review type

Things to do


Date of travel

April, 2015

Product name

Product country

Product city

Travelled with


Reasons for trip

Llanengan is a delightful small settlement of grey stone houses at the tip of the Llyn Peninsula. The church in the centre of the village is unusual as it is one of the few medieval churches in the area with a tower. It is dedicated to the C6th Saint Engan, a local prince, who founded the first church here. He was buried in the church which became a centre of pilgrimage on the pilgrim route to Bardsey Island.

The present building is early C16th although there are traces of C13th stonework at the base of the north wall. Apart from the short square tower, it is a typical double aisled Llyn church. The north aisle was built first with the slightly wider south aisle added later with a porch. The tower was the last to be built in 1534.

Inside it feels a big church with an arcade of pillars and low pointed arches separating the two aisles. Walls are whitewashed and there is a wood beamed ceiling. Pews are simple wooden benches.

By the door is an ancient wooden money chest which may have come from St Mary’s Abbey on Bardsey Island after the Dissolution of the Monasteries. At the back of the south aisle is an octagonal stone font with quatrefoils carved round the font.

A Beautiful wooden rood screen separates the chancels from the naves. That across the south aisle still has its rood loft. It is highly carved and is thought to have been brought to Llanengan from Cymner Abbey, after the Dissolution of the Monasteries.

Behind the rood screens are massive wooden choir stalls with carved ends, thought to have come from St Mary’s Abbey on Bardsey Island.

At the east end of the south aisle is a simple table altar below a modern stained glass window with some C19th glass in the centre.

The roof of the north aisle chancel is panelled with gold decoration on a blue background.

This is a very attractive church and well cared for by the village. It is well worth searching out. It was locked when we visited but a key is available from the Sun Inn. Turn right out of the lych gate and the Sun Inn is on the left at the end of the village. We parked by the Canolfan Gwmdeithasol opposite the church.

The nearest post code for the church is LL93 7LH. The grid reference is SH294270.

There is more informtion and pictures “here.”:


Join the club

Become a member to receive exclusive benefits

Our community is the heart of Silver Travel Advisor, we love nothing more than sharing ideas, inspiration, hints and tips between us.