Tucked away on Blackfriars Street near the cathedral, but missed by many visitors to Carlisle, is the lovely Georgian church of St Cuthbert, dating from 1778.
From the outside is it a rather uninspiring rectangular red sandstone building with a short square tower. It is surrounded by a leafy graveyard with the old grave slabs cleared to the surrounding walls. In summer trees hide the church. It is quiet and peaceful and removed from the bustle of the main street.
Inside is a small porch with stairs to the balcony. It is a light and airy church with white pillars supporting a balcony round three sides of the church. Walls and woodwork are picked out with pale blue, with the pews a darker blue.
Above the door is the royal coat of arms. The walls are lined with memorials to the great and good. Stained glass windows tell the story of St Cuthbert.
Next to the chancel arch is the large C18th wooden pulpit. This is on wheels and can be moved around the church. It was sufficiently high so the vicar could preach hell fire and damnation to the congregation in the gallery as well as in the pews.
The attractive brown and green marble font stands at the back of the church.
There are more pictures “here.”:http://wasleys.org.uk/eleanor/churches/england/north/cumbria/carlisle_cuthbert/index.html
There is no parking in the immediate vicinity of the church although there are plenty of car parks close by. It is signed on foot from the cathedral and is worth finding. The church is open daily from 10-4. The Post code is CA3 8UF and the grid reference is NY 400558.