On a recent weekend break to Edinburgh we discovered this amazing, little-known gem – the Royal Burgh of Culross. The small Burgh is situated on the edge of the Firth of Forth & was a major port city for the local coal mining industry during the 16th & 17th Centuries.
Within the village, the National Trust owns a wonderfully restored Palace, built by Sir George Bruce in 1597, which has many incredible features, including vaulted ceilings, panelled rooms, a stone-vaulted strongroom & original painted decorated walls. There is also a wonderful garden, which has been recreated to represent the early 17th Century original garden. The house is run by a lovely group of very friendly & helpful Stewards & there is the option of taking a walking tour of the village. There is a tea room nearby (Bessie Bar Tea Room), which serves a selection of light meals & snacks.
The village has many beautiful properties & it is worth walking up to the remains of Culross Abbey, which was founded by the Cistercians in 1217. The very enterprising adjoining church has an open-house cafe, with supplies of tea, coffee & biscuits, which is available for everyone to help themselves to, with an honesty box for donations.