Perchance, we came upon the small village of Eashing near Godalming in Surrey.
After an attempt to visit Wisley (flower show week), we decided to return home after having to travel what seemed to be almost 2 miles from the main entrance into a huge field, which then meant a long haul back to gain entry!
It was almost lunch time, and seeing a sign for Eashing, we decided to investigate. The hamlet is divided into Upper Eashing and Lower Eashing, immediately below the A3 road embankment. We parked near an historic, double bridge which spans the river Wey and a carrier stream. It was thought to have been built by monks from Waverley Abbey in the 13th century.
After a picnic lunch by the river we then looked at the bridge more closely. It was originally built of rubble with slabs of thin Bargate stone set in mortar to form wedge shapes over the arches. In the 18th century, a brick top was added, followed by wooden posts and railings in the 20th century. The bridge was donated to the National Trust in 1901.
Local legend has it that the bridge is haunted by the monks who built them. (Their ghostly apparitions have been seen on the bridge at night).
As you cross over the bridge and bear right you pass 2 lovely old cottages (Nos 1 &2 National Trust Cottages).
A little further on the right is ‘The Granary & The Wharf, Abbey Business Park.’ a fairly new looking place, replacing what must have been once an old granary, presumably?
Just past this is a tastefully refurbished inn dating back to 1772, called The Stag On The River. Certainly a place of character and one can imagine it being popular with game hunters in years gone by. It has plenty of car parking space and a lovely garden area outside near the millstream. By the amount of people there, it seems a popular place.
Eashing and its bridge was certainly a diversion worth visiting, following our failed Wisley trip!