Saxby is one of the five ‘Low Villages’ between Brigg and South Ferriby that lie along the bottom of the northern edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds. It is a long village along the B1204. The church is set on the hillside above the village and can’t be seen from the road.
There has been a church here since at least the C13th. The church was in a poor condition by the C19th and was completely rebuilt to a design of George Gilbert Scott. The tower is on the south side of the nave and has the effect of making the chancel look longer than the nave.
The church is important as it is an unspoilt example of Gilbert Scott’s work. So many of his churches have been altered since they were built.
By the steps into the south porch is a stone tub which may be the original font.
Inside it is a very attractive church with plastered walls, wood roof and an arcade of round pillars and arches separating the nave from the north aisle.
The Victorian wood pews have brightly coloured embroidered kneelers made by members of the congregation. This is a congregation who values and cares for its church.
Above the south door is the Royal Coat of Arms of Queen Victoria. On the wall is the old poor box. The Octagonal font is opposite the doorway and is on what looks to be an older base.
The stone pulpit has carvings of the four evangelists with their symbols. Below the reading desk is an angel.
The organ dates from 1871 and is set under the tower.
On the wall of the north aisle is the parish memorial to the dead of the Great War.
The nave slopes up to the chancel which is reached by a flight of steps. The simple chancel screen dates from 1904 and was carved by members of a wood carving class supervised by the Saxby Estate carpenter. The beautiful corona in the chancel was given in memory of Thomas Hutchinson, who died in 1874 and was the schoolmaster and parish clerk.
On the north wall of the chancel is the only piece of masonry, a piscina, to survive from the original church. It has a carved male head with flowing locks.
The stained glass windows are C19th and many are the work of Hardman and Sons from Birmingham.
Perhaps the most beautiful window in he church is the Kempe window at the end of the north aisle. Its pastel shades are in marked contrast to the vivid colours of the rest of the stained glass windows.
This is a delightful small village church. It is open on Thursday mornings. Contact details for access at other times can be found “here.”:http://allsaintslincs.org.uk/contact/
There is no parking by the church, although there is parking along the main road. The nearest post code is DN20 0QB and the grid reference is SE 992167.
There are more pictures “here.”:http://wasleys.org.uk/eleanor/churches/england/lincolnshire/lincolnshire_four/saxbyallsaints/index.html