There are three rooms above the Blue Drawing Room and the Court Room, which are reached up the William and Mary staircase. The royal rooms were used when the Prince and Princess of Wales and their daughter Princess Victoria visited in 1900. After their coronation, Frank Green changed their names to the Queen’s and King’s Room and asked for permission to place the Royal Coat of Arms above the beds.
The TAPESTRY DRESSING ROOM has early C20th wood panelling and C17th Flemish tapestries. These hide the C17th brickwork as there wasn’t enough panelling to cover all the walls. On a wall is a lovely embroidery of the story of Esther. Dating from 1630-40, this shows Esther pleading with the King of Persia to save the Jewish people.
Leading off the Tapestry Room is PRINCESS VICTORIA’S ROOM. The bed came from Hougham Hall in Norfolk and is hung with dark green velvet with gold trimmings. The panelling and tapestries were placed here in 1910 s originally the room was decorated similar to the Queen’s Bedroom. The heavy bottle green paint and bed hangings make the room feel dark. The only light is provided by the Venetian glass chandelier.
Beneath the window is a massive marble topped table supported massive figures of simulated metal sphinxes.The massive marquetry linen press was made from laburnum wood. On the dressing table is a lovely mirror with thin layers of etched ivory veneered on sandalwood, whose sweet smell helped scent the room.
The QUEEN’S ROOM lit by a gilded chandelier, is dominated by the tester bed, again from Houghton Hall hung with gold drapes. The wallpaper is a Watts and Co damask fabric. On either side of the bed are two lovely Boulle cupboards of brass on ebony, each a mirror image of the other.
The King’s Room and the South Dressing Room are completely separate on the opposite side of the house and reached via the wooden staircase off the Great Hall.
The KING’S ROOM originally had white painted wall. The present pink stencilled scheme dates from 1908, after the visit of the Prince of Wales. The design is based on that in the C16th painted chamber in nearby St William’s College. The bed hangings are red velvet and the bedspread is a lovely Queen Anne period embroidered quilt. The HRH dressing gown and slippers are a ‘bit of fun’ added by the National Trust.
A corridor with glass fronted display cabinets with glass goblets, leads to the South Dressing Room. This was originally wallpapered but this was later replaced with green painted panelling.
Beyond is what is described as the Blue Flat which is completely different to the rest of the house. It was lived in until recently, and has only just been opened up to visitors. It consists of blue painted rooms with white ceilings plus a blue and white tiled bathroom. One has a series of quotes on the wall. Another contains dressing up clothes and there are second hand books. Stone steps lead down to the Entrance hall, tea room and shop.
In some ways the Treasurer’s House wasn’t quite what we’d expected. It feels very much a display house rather than a lived in house with an eclectic collection of furniture and pictures. It is very much the creation of Frank Green. The Boulle cabinets are particularly impressive.
There is more information and pictures