The delightful C12th Church of St Michael and All Angels is set on a bluff above the River Wharfe at the far end of the tiny settlement of Linton. It is surrounded by limestone walls and rich green pasture.
There has been a church here since Saxon times. This was probably a timber frame wattle and daub church with a thatched roof. It was replaced by a stone building around 1150 and the north arcade with its round pillars dates from then. Over the years the church has been extended with a north aisle followed by the south aisle. Around 1350, the chancel was demolished and replaced by a new Decorated period chancel. The flat topped windows were inserted in the side aisles in the C15th, replacing the narrow lancet windows and allowing more light into the church. The clerestory was added around then. There was a major restoration in the C19th. Carved stonework from round the windows was used for the stone benches in the rebuilt south porch. The chancel and nave roofs were restored and replaced with wood beamed ceilings.The small belfry at the west end was rebuilt using the original stones. The Georgian fittings were removed and replaced by Victorian ones. Following the theft of lead from the roof, the church was reroofed with Yorkshire stone slate in 1982.
Inside it is a simple but obviously well loved and cared for church. The nave and chancel walls are whitewashed. The side aisles are bare stone.
The C19th wood beam roof in the nave replaced the earlier flat roof of the Georgian church. The chancel ceiling in much plainer but retains the C15th gilded bosses which had been covered by plaster but were were rediscovered by the Victorians.
At the back of the church is a simple Norman tub font. On the wall of the north aisle are the Coat of Arms of George II, which were rediscovered during the C19th restoration and hung here.
In the floor in front of the chancel (and a trip hazard for the unwary) is an old stone grave slab to Anne Lupton, a member of an important local family.
The furnishings of the Lady Chapel to the right of the chancel were made by Thompson of Kilburn and have his characteristic adze finish and mouse signature. The Lady Chapel window has an image of the Holy family.
The stained glass crucifixion in the east window of the chancel commemorates the Golden Jubilee of Queen Victoria.
The rest of the stained glass is C20th with a lovely window of St Michael and St George commemorating the Rector and one of his friends who were killed in the Second World War.
The church is open daily with a service at 10.30 on a Sunday. There is a car park in the field by the church which is open for Church services. There is also some parking opposite the house at the end of the road. Alternatively, it is a lovely 20 minute “walk”:http://www.silvertraveladvisor.com/review/attraction/165130-review-linton-falls
from the main car park in Grassington. A paved track between stone walls drops down from the corner of the car park to a footbridge across the river by Linton falls. Follow the track up to the road, turn left and follow the road to the end. There is also another car park by public toilets along this road.
This is a delightful church and well worth finding. It is quiet and a world away from the tourist honeypot of Grassington. The nearest post code for the church is BD23 6BQ and the grid reference is SE 005632
There are more pictures “here.”:http://wasleys.org.uk/eleanor/churches/england/yorkshire/north_yorkshire/north_yorkshire_two/linton/index.html