St Mary’s Friary

1128 Reviews

Star Travel Rating

2/5

Review type

Things to do

Location

Date of travel

February, 2017

Product name

Product country

Product city

Travelled with

Solo

Reasons for trip

As well as the ruins of “Walsingham Priory,”:http://wasleys.org.uk/eleanor/churches/england/ruined_abbeys/midlands_south/walsingham_priory/index.html there is also a ruined friary in Little Walsingham. Unfortunately this private property and there is no entry. It can be viewed from the gateway on Fakenham Road. There are long distance views of more of the ruins across the fields from Blind Dick’s Lane or across the roof tops from Church Street.

This was founded in the C14th Elizabeth de Burgh, Countess of Clare on the main road into Walsingham. The canons of Walsingham Priory complained, with little success, that it would divert money from pilgrims.

The Friary was also dissolved in 1538. The site was excavated in the 1930s and the ruins stabilised. There is little left of the church but the domestic buildings and guest house still stand to almost their full height.

Although there is little to see, this is part of the tradition of Pilgrimage in “Little Walsingham”:http://www.silvertraveladvisor.com/review/place/170380-review-little-walsingham . It only takes a few minutes to walk to the gateway to view the ruins so is worth adding to the list of things to do along with the “Priory ruins”:http://wasleys.org.uk/eleanor/churches/england/ruined_abbeys/midlands_south/walsingham_priory/index.html and the “Anglican Shrine Church.”:http://wasleys.org.uk/eleanor/churches/england/ruined_abbeys/midlands_south/walsingham_priory/index.html

The nearest post code is NR22 6BH and the grid reference is TF 933366

ESW

Join the club

Become a member to receive exclusive benefits

Our community is the heart of Silver Travel Advisor, we love nothing more than sharing ideas, inspiration, hints and tips between us.