This is a typical Suffolk church built of flint with a massive battlemented tower at the west end with buttresses with decorative flushwork. It has buttresses nave with a lower chancel and splendid south porch. This has flushwork walls and small sundial above the entrance.
The chancel is 13thC with 15thC nave, tower and porch.
Even though there are no side aisles it feels a large church inside. The church is dominated by its magnificent double hammer beam roof with angels holding painted shields. The box pews date from 1630 and have Jacobean carved arches on the ends. This theme is continued on the sides of the pulpit.
The carved stone font has a very tall and elaborate cover shaped like a steeple and painted in red, green and gold. At the back of the church is an old fire engine dating from 1760 and last used on Guy Fawkes night in 1927. It could produce a jet of water up to 150’ high.
High on the west wall is a small doorway which would have been reached by ladder and given access to the tower.
There are a few fragments of medieval glass in the north window.
There is a notice inside the door explaining that areas that look in need of repainting are actually the remains of wall paintings. You do however really need the eye of faith to make out any detail on the areas to the left of the door or on the chancel wall by the pulpit. St Christopher on the north wall has a few indistinct lines.
The chancel roof has massive carved stone heads beneath the beams. The simple table altar has a carved stone reredos with two angels. There is the remains of a sedilia on the south wall as well as a consecration cross and many old monuments.
Like the outside, this is a fairly typical Suffolk church. There is nothing special about it to attract the visitors. it is just a nice church. The church is open 9-sunset. There is some parking by the lych gate or in the car park of the pub (unless it is lunchtime).