Scawby is an attractive small village of stone built houses around a staggered crossroads. The area has been settled since Saxon times and the church is dedicated to St Hybald, a C7th Saxon saint. Little is known about him apart from the fact he may have been a pupil and friend of St Chad, was an abbot of a local monastery and may have become a hermit. He was buried in the nearby village of Hibaldstow and his shrine became a place of pilgrimage until the Reformation when it was destroyed. When St Hybald’s Church in “Hibaldstow”:http://wasleys.org.uk/eleanor/churches/england/lincolnshire/lincolnshire_two/hibaldstow/index.html “here.”:http://wasleys.org.uk/eleanor/churches/england/lincolnshire/lincolnshire_four/scawby/index.html was rebuilt in the C19th, a stone coffin believed to contain the body of St Hybald was found beneath the chancel.
Scawby church is set back from the road and masked by tall trees. The base of the tower is C14th, still with its narrow slit windows. The rest of the church is mid C19th as it was completely rebuilt after a disastrous fire. It is a typical parish church with clerestoried nave with lower side aisles and chancel.
Inside it is a fairly plain church with painted plaster walls and wood roof. Just inside the door by the stone font, is an embroidered cross which was made to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the rebuilding of the church. Each square was designed and made by a child from Scawby Academy school.
The north aisle has been enclosed by sliding glass doors and now functions as a small meeting room and children’s area. At the east end is an altar used for small services.
The gallery at the back of the church is now the organ loft and there is a small Royal Coat of Arms on the woodwork.
The stained glass is C19th.
A simple arch leads into the chancel with the image of St Hybald on the east window. On the walls are hatchments and memorials to the Nelthorpe Family who lived in Scawby Hall. Perhaps the most impressive is that to Richard Nelthorpe 1569-1640 in the south east corner. Richard had bought the Manor of Scawby in 1626 and was responsible for building the present Scawby Hall, next to the church. He is shown with his wife Ursula and their children below. Those who predeceased him are shown holding skulls.
The memorial of his eldest son, Sir John is next to him. John was made a baronet and was unmarried. He was responsible for founding Brigg Grammar School , now Sir John Nelthorpe School. The memorial to the 8th Baronet, another Sir John is in the north west corner of the chancel. He also died childless. Also on the north wall of the chancel are memorial brasses to C19th Nelthorpes.
In many ways this is a very simple parish church. The Nelthorpe memorials are probably the main reason to visit. The church is open on Tuesdays from 10-3pm and days when Scawby Hall is open. The Post Office on Chapel Lane has a key.
The Post code for the church is DN20 9AH and the grid reference is SE 969056. There is plenty of on street parking near the church.
There are more pictures “here.”:http://wasleys.org.uk/eleanor/churches/england/lincolnshire/lincolnshire_four/scawby/index.html