The Church of St Francis of Assisi on Triq ir-Republika is usually locked although it is possible to see inside 30minutes before the service begins.
We were pleased we managed to do this as it is a delightful small church. It was rebuilt in 1681 and is a large rectangular building with a classical style frontage with a statue of St Francis on the corner.
Inside the walls are painted pale blue and pink with gold decoration. The nave roof is flat with a large painting separated by a large decorative red and gold rib from a smaller painting beyond. The dome has an inscription round the base, stained glass windows above with paintings separated by carved gilded ribs and a small cupola. There is a small painted apse above the chancel.
There are decorative gilt arches over the side altars which have pictures above. They are flanked by wall pillars which have a smaller picture above the main picture. Though a door on the left side of the nave is a highly decorated oratory chapel. On the wall opposite is a statue of the Virgin Mary. Both of these have a roundel with a painting above and a coat of arms.
There is a small mass table with high altar behind with huge gilt candlesticks. The area behind is curtained off and part of the picture on the back wall with pillars and decorated arch above can be seen above the curtains. The marble pulpit has a chandelier above it. There are statues on either side of the main door. Above is a balcony with an organ.