A small group of Friends arrived on the island around 1650 and quickly made many converts. They were persecuted for their beliefs and were imprisoned, their property confiscated and they were expelled from the island.
The Quakers were not allowed burial in consecrated ground, so William Callow, a farmer and person of some importance on the island, set aside a small plot of land near a ruined keeil on his land for the burial of his Quaker friends.
William’s wife and family were deported, although William managed to stay on the island. He was buried here on his death in 1676.
This is a lonely and isolated site, surrounded by a wall with a few trees. A stone stile leads into the burial ground with its single grave stone. The inscription is modern.
Few people find the graveyard and there is little information available about it. It is on the unclassified road between Cornaa and Ballajora, opposite Ballafayle Cairn. There is some parking along the side of the road and the grid reference is SC 476902.