Iona Abbey

1128 Reviews

Star Travel Rating


Review type

Things to do


Date of travel

October, 2016

Product name

Product country

Product city

Travelled with


Reasons for trip

Iona Abbey is one of the oldest and most important religious centres in Britain. There is so much history to the place that I have divided the review into four separate parts. The first part covers the history and some background. The second part describes the Abbey buildings. Part three concentrates on the Abbey and part four describes the cloisters.

The Museum is reviewed “here.”:

All the information and a lot more pictures can be found “here.”:

Iona was on a busy sea route connecting Ireland, Scotland, Isle of Man and England. St Columba (Colum Cille) arrived here in 563AD with twelve of his followers, and established the first monastery here. It rapidly became one of the most important monasteries in the British Isles and a seat of learning and art. The beautifully illustrated Book of Kells was made here around 800AD.

The original monastery was a collection of wooden buildings surrounded by a massive earth bank, the Vallum, which acted as a boundary separating the spiritual and secular worlds. Part of this bank can still be seen to the north west of the abbey buildings.

Near the buildings was a small mound, Torr an Aba, where St Columba has a small shed he could retire to and write.

When St Columba did in 597 at the age of 75, he was buried in a small richly decorated wooden building. Adomnan, born thirty years after St Columba’s death and the ninth Abbot, wrote the first ‘Lift of St Columba’ around 690. This was a mixture of fact and popular tradition which had grown up around St Columba.

Around 800AD the original wooden building was replaced by a stone chapel, St Columba’s shrine. His bones were dug up and along with some of his most treasured belongings and placed in a richly decorated reliquary chest. By now, the Abbey was a focus for pilgrimage attracting increasing numbers of pilgrims. The pilgrims arrived at either Columba’s Bay or Martyr’s Bay and followed a set route visiting areas associated with St Columba’s many miracles before arriving at this shrine along what was called Sraid nam Marbh, or the Street of the Dead. The last cobbled stretch of the road can be seen leading to the abbey.

The abbey suffered a series of Viking raids in the C8th & C9th when gold and jewels were stolen, monks killed and the wooden monastery burnt. It was replaced by stone in 818 but was again badly damaged by raids in 825 and 849. The surviving relics were taken to Dunkeld Cathedral and Kells in Ireland for safe keeping. By around 900, the Vikings had settled in the area, embraced Christianity and adopting St Columba as their patron saint.

There was one last raid in Iona at Christmas 986 by Danish Vikings settled in Dublin. They knew the monastery treasures would be on display for the festive Christmas Mass. The Abbot and 15 monks were murdered.

Around 1200, Reginald MacDonald of Islay, one of the sons of Somerled, who had taken control of the area around 1100, invited Benedictine Monks to rebuild Columba’s monastery. They encouraged Pilgrims to St Columba’s shrine.

Work began in 1200 on an aisleless cross shaped church, with small transepts.

As the monastery grew in importance, the chancel was extended in 1250 to house a larger choir and a crypt was built to house relics. Side choir aisles were built to help manage the movement of pilgrims. There was an ambitious remodelling in the mid 1400, when the crypt was removed, possibly as it was in danger of collapse. This explains the two arches and central column that start half way up the north wall. The north side aisle became the Sacristy. The nave was widened to the south, and the west front and crossing tower were built. The carved capitals of the crossing arches still survive.

By 1450, the monastery buildings were complete with the Abbey church with cloisters on the north side with the dormitory, refectory and abbot’s house.

After the Reformation in 1560, the monastery fell into disrepair. Over 350 “stone crosses”: around Iona disappeared. In 1630, Charles I tried to use the east end of the abbey church as a Cathedral of the Isles, but the attempt failed and and the abbey was left to become a ruin.

At the end of the C19th, the eighth Duke of Argyll, whose family had owned land on Iona for over 200 years, initiated the rebuilding of the abbey. In 1899 he transferred ownership to the Iona Cathedral Trust who continued the restoration work which was finally completed by the Iona Community in 1965. The care of the abbey passed to Historic Environment Scotland in 2000.

The Abbey is open April to the end of September from 9.30-5.30 daily and there is a charge to enter. From October to the end of March it is open 10-4 Mondays to Saturdays. On Sundays, it is unmanned with free entry to the church, St Columba’s Shrine, Michael Chapel and the grounds. The web site does make the comment that opening times are subject to ferry services and weather conditions.

The post code is PA76 6SQ and the grid reference is NM 287245


Join the club

Become a member to receive exclusive benefits

Our community is the heart of Silver Travel Advisor, we love nothing more than sharing ideas, inspiration, hints and tips between us.

Come feel the love on a Princess cruise. You’ll enjoy the MedallionClass experience others simply can’t, and it’s exclusively for everyone. Visit incredible destinations and be involved in the best experiences around each one of them.

Experience more with Princess and connect effortlessly with the world around you, spend time away with loved ones, take a moment for yourself, and fall in love with your holiday of a lifetime, every time.

With over 20 years of experience, Wendy Wu Tours has mastered the art of creating exceptional, fully inclusive tours which showcase the very best of each destination.

Each tour is led by a world-class guide, who will highlight the very best of their homeland, and includes authentic cultural experiences so you are not just seeing the sights, but truly immersing yourself in local life.

Say hello to ease at sea. Ambassador’s purpose is simple: they want to inspire every guest to experience authentic cruising, effortlessly and sustainably. Passionate about protecting our oceans and destinations, their ships comply with the highest industry emission standards and there is no single-use plastic on board.

On your voyage, you will receive the warmest of welcomes from the Ambassador community as you sail upon the friendliest ships afloat.

This is a global co-operative co-owned by local partners using real local experts and guides, which supports local communities, environments and wildlife. It offers travellers quirky places to stay, activity holidays and learning experiences. Not In The Guidebooks gets travellers off the beaten track into local culture with day experiences and longer, immersive adventures.

From wild wellness breaks in Wales to painting in Portugal, sustainable adventures in Mauritius to food safaris in Brazil, this is immersive, exciting travel.

Seabourn’s five intimate ships carry guests to the heart of great cities, exclusive yacht harbours and secluded coves around the world, while two new purpose-built expedition ships will combine exhilarating adventures in remote destinations with the sophisticated amenities of the world’s finest resorts at sea.

From the luxury of all suite accommodations to complimentary fine wines and spirits, and a no tipping policy, Seabourn exemplifies the definition of travelling well.