To the east of Beaulieu-les-Loches is the Forêt de Loches which was a royal hunting forest until the Revolution. It is now state owned and is a source of timber (mainly coniferous) and is also used for recreational purposes with walking and riding routes. There are three Pyramids marked on the map; Pyramide de St Quentin, Pyramide de Genillé and Pyramide des Chartreux. These are stone built obelisks, each of a slightly different design built about 1770. They are placed at major intersections in the forest and are thought to be meeting points for the hunts.
CHARTREUSE DU LIGET is off the D760 between Beaulieu-les-Loches and Montresor. It was originally a monastery founded by Henry II in the 12thC as a penance for the murder of Thomas á Beckett. These buildings, apart from the church, were destroyed during the Hundred Years War and the Wars of Religion. They were sold off during the Revolution. The present buildings are 18thC.
They are surrounded by a tall stone wall with a splendid gateway with a carving of St Bruno and topped with urns. There are outbuildings along the driveway with the main house at the end. This is now let out for holiday lets. It is possible to go in and wander round the site and look at the church.