The Church of St Catherine of Alexandria is set back off Corso Umberto near Tourist Information in Palazzo Corvaja. It was built in the C17th on the ruins of the Roman Odeon, which can be seen behind the church. The church was restored in the 1970s when part of the Roman theatre was exposed beneath the floor.
The simple “exterior”:https://c8.alamy.com/comp/GXC1EA/church-of-saint-catherine-of-alexandria-in-taormina-sicily-italy-GXC1EA.jpg is built from pink Taormina marble and has a small bell tower in one corner. In a niche above the portico is a statue of St Catherine.
The simple nave is white plaster with Baroque spiral pillars decorated with vine leaves and cherubs. There are pictures or small altars between them. Chandeliers hang from the ceiling.
The painting above the main altar depicts St Catherine surrounded by saints. At the top is God the Father.
Also in the church is a marble statue of St Catherine dated 1493. This came from the original church of St Catherine which was outside the city wall and taken over by the Capuchins in 1559. In her left hand she is holding a book. In her right hand she is holding a sword used to kill a devil at her feet.
The church is open daily and is free. It is best visited between 9 to 9.30 in the morning when the sunlight streams through the west door lighting up the main altar.