Saltfleetby All Saints is a small settlement just off A 1031 Grimsby to Mablethorpe Road. The church set in a churchyard with snowdrops and primroses is gently subsiding into the marsh.
One of the oldest churches in the area dating from 1150 it suffers from being built on marshy land. The west tower is leaning to the west and is supported by massive buttresses. The south aisle is gently collapsing to the south. Now no longer used, it belongs to the Churches Conservation Trust and is always open.
The church is built from local greenstone, limestone and ironstone with a metal roof above the nave and tiles over the chancel. There is a small cross at the end of the chancel. The tower at the west end is tall and slender with 15thC top with large bell windows at the top. It still has its five bells.
Entry is through a large 15thC porch on the south wall with a brick front and a stone shield carved above the doorway and one on either side.
Inside there is a large and empty nave which is 13thC with round pillars and pointed arches separating nave and south aisle, which is also leaning outwards. On the floor are remains of tomb stones. There is a splendid wooden roof in the nave with tie beams and queen posts. The carved bosses have flower, face and shield.
At the back is a large font with a 13thC carved basin standing on a 14thC pillar support with four carved heads round the base. It is covered by a wooden lid. At the front is a wooden lectern and old Bible.
On the north wall are three old bells from St Botolph’s Church, Skidbrooke and an old box pew. At the back by the tower is a tall 17thC wooden altar with carved panels which was discarded by Oriel College, Oxford in the 19thC. There is no information as to how if ended up here. At the front of the nave is a second altar . This is Elizabethan and is mush lower with beautifully carved panels with arches and flowers and foliage.
There are carved screens across the nave and south aisle with carved panel bases and tracery arches above. The remains of red paint can be seen on the woodwork. The south chapel has a carved screen separating it from the chancel which has red and blue paint. It has an old wooden table altar and remains of a stone reredos on the east wall.
The chancel has choir stalls and a small pedal organ. The floor is tiled with red, gold, green and beige tiles. The wooden altar rail has carved pillars and base. The table altar is covered with a cloth and has a simple wooden cross and brass candlesticks with two carved wooden chairs on either side.
There is parking along the road outside the church.