Kilnwick is a small village on the edge of the Yorkshire Wolds, south of Driffield and just off the busy A164. It feels miles away from civilisation.
There has been a church here since the C11th. Watton Priory a couple of miles away owned extensive lands in the area and had a grange (granary) here with a small chapel for the lay workers. The building was enlarged in the C12/13th. The brick top to the tower is C17th and there was a massive restoration in the C19th.
The north doorway is Norman and has beakhead carving round the arches. At the top of the outer arch is the carving of a pig’s head, one of only two in the country. The pillars on either side of the door have carved capitals.
Inside it is an attractive church with round pillars with pointed arches separating nave and north aisle which was added in the C13th. One pillar has stylised water leaf carving round the top. Above is a king pin beamed roof.
The tall pointed chancel arch dates from the C19th restorations and replaced the narrow Norman arch. The modern arch is supported on carved corbels with short marble pillars with carved capitals.
At the back of the church is the Norman font, a shallow bowl with cable moulding round the rim set on an octagonal stand. It looks surprisingly modern.
The dark oak pulpit has elaborate geometrical designs on the panels. It was made in 1660 for Beverley Minster and was bought for 3guineas in 1726 when the Minster was restored.
The chancel has a lovely glazed tile floor with a square motif of Agnus Dei in front of the altar. The base of the east wall is panelled with a taller panelled reredos behind the altar. The C19th stained glass east window depicts the Ascension. Hanging from the roof is a large metal candelabra with candles.
On the walls are memorials to members of the Grimston family who were Lords of the Manor and chief benefactors of the church. They donated the organ and raised funds for the C19th restoration.
On the floor are grave slabs to earlier Grimstons.
The church is open every day but receives few visitors. There is an information leaflet available in the church. We parked on the verge by the church. The church is reached down a public footpath along the driveway through the iron gates to the north of the church. This takes you through lovely gardens. There are steps into the porch.
There are more pictures “here.”:http://wasleys.org.uk/eleanor/churches/england/yorkshire/east_riding/east_two/kilnwick/index.html