In medieval times, Lincolnshire was much more heavily populated than it is now and there are many deserted village sites. All that is left of many are a few bumps in the ground and the church.?
Clixby is such a site. It is set in the depths of rural Lincolnshire on the western edge of the Wolds. On the A1084, it is just north of Caistor. It is surrounded by farmland and there are a couple of farmhouses, two farm workers cottages and a newer house.
The church is set on a bend in the road and set in an old churchyard with a yew and a big beech tree. Bird song was trying hard to drown out the traffic noise.???All that is left of the church is the 13thC chancel. The nave was in a ruinous state and demolished in 1727. The chancel was restored in 1889 and a small west porch added. The remains of the chancel arch can be seen above the porch and remains of pillars on either side.
Inside it is a plain rather austere building with whitewashed walls. There is a large plain glass window at the east end and two windows on the south wall. The wooden ceiling had been painted and there is a Latin inscription in praise of the Virgin Mary round the base and stencilled IHS motifs on the roof.
The remains of the chancel arch can be seen on the west wall of the church. On either side of the newer doorway are two blocked doorways with a triangular stone arch above. At the back is a rather nice stone font with carvings of apostles or saints on the base and more figures and flower motifs round the bowl. This is 15thC and came from St Peter’s Church in Low Towton. The wooden pews have been rescued from other redundant churches.
The floor of the nave is wood apart from old stone tomb stones down the centre. In front of the altar is a beautifully carved 14thC slab with a cross and a chalice.
The altar is wood and has painted panels with Christ on the cross in the centre. being wrapped in a shroud on the left and rising from the dead on the right.
Also in the chancel is a splendid carved wood memorial to Agnes Dennison Hutchinson who died 1922 aged 83 with details of her husband and children. On the top are carved oak leaves and acorns with birds and also vine leaves with grapes and more birds.Along the bottom is a frieze of holly. Near it is a simple stone memorial to Archibold John Marvin 1946 who gave funds for the benefit of the church and churchyard.
The church is no longer used and is looked after by the Churches Conservation Trust and is always open. There is some parking on the verge opposite.
This is an interesting small church and worth stopping to have a look if passing.